Awards and Honors

ASIL Honors The Society recognizes excellence in the field of international law with three annual honors.  Honorees are selected by the Society's Executive Council, on the nomination of the Honors Committee, and are presented each year at the Society’s Annual Meeting.  The 2016-2017 ASIL Honors Committee, consisting of Anna Spain Bradley (chair), Angela Banks, David Bowker, Chiara Giorgetti, and Marcos Orellana, invites nominations (including self-nominations) from among ASIL members for the following ASIL honors.

The Manley O. Hudson Medal is awarded to a distinguished person of American or other nationality for outstanding contributions to scholarship and achievement in international law.
The 2016 medalist was Richard Bilder.
View prior recipients.
The Goler T. Butcher Medal is awarded to a distinguished person of American or other nationality, for outstanding contributions to the development or effective realization of international human rights.
The 2016 medalist was James Anaya.
View prior recipients
The Honorary Membership Award is awarded to an individual of American or other nationality who has rendered distinguished contributions or service in the field of international law. 
The 2016 Honorary Membership award was presented to Henry Richardson
View prior recipients
The Francis Deák Prize is awarded to a younger author for meritorious scholarship published in The American Journal of International Law (AJIL). The prize was established by Philip Cohen in 1973, in memory of Francis Deak, former head of the international law program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace and editor of American International Law Cases, 1783-1963, the first volume of which was published in 1971, the year before his death.
The 2015 Francis Deák Prize was presented to Tom Ruys.
View prior recipients

Nominations Sought

The nomination period has ended.

ASIL Book Awards 

The Society annually bestows three book awards, known as ASIL Certificates of Merit, for a “preeminent contribution to creative scholarship;” in “a specialized area of international law;” and for “high technical craftsmanship and utility to practicing lawyers and scholars.” The winners are selected by the Society's Executive Council on the nomination of the Book Awards Committee and will be presented at the Society’s Annual Meeting in April. The 2016-2017 Awards Committee is Chantal Thomas (chair), Margaret de Guzman, David Gantz, Gary Horlick, and Peter Tomka.

Nominating Process

The Book Awards Committee is now accepting applications for the 2017 Certificates of Merit. Books of any nationality or place of publication that have been published in the 24 months preceding February 1, 2017, are eligible.

The deadline for nominations is September 15, 2016. Publishers may nominate a maximum of 10 books, and should send one copy of each book nominated to the Society and one copy to each member of the Book Awards Committee. For shipping instructions or other information, please contact ASIL Awards and Honors at Please note that the Book Awards Committee will not be able to consider books that are not provided to the proper addresses in accordance with these instructions.

2016 Certificate of Merit winners: 
  • Certificate of Merit for a preeminent contribution to creative scholarship: Isabel V. Hull, A Scrap of Paper: Breaking and Making International Law During the Great War (Cornell, 2014)

  • Certificate of Merit in a specialized area of international law: Odette Lienau, Rethinking Sovereign Debt: Politics, Reputation, and Legitimacy in Modern Finance (Harvard, 2014)

  • Certificate of Merit for high technical craftsmanship and utility to practicing lawyers and scholars: William A. Schabas, The European Convention on Human Rights: A Commentary (Oxford, 2015)

View Book Awards Committee report
View previous certificate winners

Interest Groups

Some ASIL Interest Groups also give annual prizes. To learn about them, visit the individual web pages for the groups, accessible from