BOARD OF EDITORS Editors in Chief

JOSÉ ENRIQUE ALVAREZ New York University School of Law

DAPO AKANDE Oxford University KAREN J. ALTER Northwestern University ANTONY ANGHIE National University of Singapore EYAL BENVENISTI Tel Aviv University Faculty of Law LAURENCE BOISSON DE CHAZOURNES University of Geneva School of Law CURTIS A. BRADLEY Duke University School of Law CHRISTOPHER BRUMMER Georgetown University Law Center DAVID D. CARON King's College London Dickson Poon School of Law BHUPINDER SINGH CHIMNI Jawaharlal Nehru University JAMES THUO GATHII Loyola University Chicago School of Law TOM GINSBURG University of Chicago Law School RYAN GOODMAN New York University School of Law LAURENCE R. HELFER Duke University School of Law ALEXANDRA HUNEEUS University of Wisconsin Law School

ex officio Lucinda Low Mark David Agrast *Honorary Editors*

GEORGE H. ALDRICH St. Michaels, Maryland RICHARD B. BILDER University of Wisconsin Law School CHARLES N. BROWER The Hague, the Netherlands EDITH BROWN WEISS Georgetown University Law Center THOMAS BUERGENTHAL George Washington Univ. Law School CHRISTINE M. CHINKIN London School of Economics IAMES R. CRAWFORD University of Cambridge JOHN R. CROOK Potomac, Maryland ANTHONY D'AMATO Northwestern University School of Law RICHARD FALK University of California, Santa Barbara TOM J. FARER University of Denver MICHAEL J. GLENNON Fletcher School, Tufts University ROSALYN HIGGINS The Hague, the Netherlands

> Associate Editor JULIE ROBERTS FURGERSON

Senior Editors Anna Ascher Stephen Scher

BENEDICT KINGSBURY New York University School of Law University of Utah KAREN KNOP University of Toronto Law School KATERINA LINOS Univ. of California, Berkeley School of Law DONALD M. MCRAE University of Ottawa Faculty of Law CATHERINE POWELL Fordham Law School KAL RAUSTIALA Univ. of California (UCLA) School of Law NATALIE REID Debevoise & Plimpton HENRY J. RICHARDSON III Temple University Beasley School of Law ANNELISE RILES Cornell Law School ANTHEA ROBERTS Australian National University GREGORY SHAFFER Univ. of California, Irvine School of Law DAVID P. STEWART Georgetown University Law Center ALAN O. SYKES Stanford Law School CARLOS MANUEL VÁZQUEZ Georgetown University Law Center INGRID WUERTH Vanderbilt Law School

FREDERIC L. KIRGIS Washington and Lee Univ. School of Law CYNTHIA ČRAWFORD LICHTENSTEIN Boston College Law School DAVID A. MARTIN University of Virginia School of Law MICHAEL J. MATHESON George Washington Univ. Law School THEODOR MERON The Hague, the Netherlands JOHN NORTON MOORE University of Virginia School of Law BERNARD H. OXMAN University of Miami School of Law W. MICHAEL REISMAN Yale Law School STEPHEN M. SCHWEBEL Washington, D.C. DINAH SHELTON George Washington Univ. Law School PETER D. TROOBOFF Covington & Burling LLP **RUTH WEDGWOOD** Johns Hopkins University Submissions Editors STEPHANIE FONTANA, 2015–16 NATHAN YAFFE, 2016-17

Managing Editor Erin K. Lovall

Assistant to the Editors in Chief RACHEL JONES

Associate Submissions Editors 2015–16 ERIKA ASGEIRSSON GIUSEPPE BIANCO Chief NATHAN YAFFE